The Selection by Kiera Cass

I bought this book a few months ago just because of the front cover. My exact thoughts were  I know 10507293I may be a sucker for falling for this cover, but look at it! I totally want to go to that party. A few days ago I picked it up and started reading. First of all this is what it says on the back:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

The selection plays out in a futuristic world where after World War 3 people got divded into casts from one to eight. Being a One means you’ll have a perfect life where you can get whatever you want, and Eight are the people who are homeless, doesn’t have money at all etc. America is a Five. That means they are atists, aren’t the poorest but neither are they the people who have it best in the society . Money is something that is unstable and in some cases they don’t have money at all. When the letter comes about The selection  America agrees to sign up to for various reasons, but was 100% sure she wouldn’t be elected. When it’s revealed who those 35 girls who have been selected are, America’s life changes forever.

I’ve read some pretty bad reviews about this book and honestly i don’t really agree with them. Yes, this book isn’t the best book i’ve read but it’s not the worst either.  I have to admit I had higher expectations. It’s not that it’s badly written, it’s the characters and the world.They lack depth and most dialogues are awkward. It’s like they are all trying too hard to be someone they aren’t. This book could be so much better than it is. It has so much potencial the author doesn’t use. At some points it feels like the author just rushed to get it over with. Another thing that bugged me was-. I feel like I would enjoy the story more if there wasn’t the whole rebel/political unrest thing going on. Every futuristic/dystopian book has to have political unrest, and it gets old.

Fun fact is this book was set to become a tv show! The pilot was done and everything was ready to got but at the last minute it got cancelled. I think it was because it was all too similiar with another show.

This book  isn’t something I would recommend you to buy. This book is more for the people who look after something light, fast and simple to read. But if your local library has it and you are out of books to read then sure. I kind of regret buying it though since I could’ve bought a better book I would’ve liked more with the same money but on the bright side it’ll be a beautiful decoration on my bookshelf. Overall, it was okay. I will probably read the other two books eventually, but I’m not in a crazy hurry to do so. (Besides, I don’t think my library has The Elite, and I didn’t love this one enough to go out and buy the sequel.) This book gets three planets.

finfinfin

5 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

