Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

1262730605_1391803573Three angels – Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human – are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.

Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.

The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?

As soon as I saw this book I knew I had to read it, when I read the back and saw the book trailer I was sold immediately. I bought it and as soon as I got home I started reading.  Halo is a   unique story that needed to be told.  Interactions between Bethany and her boyfriend Xavier are the shining moments of this book.  The author captured the angst of longing for humanity and guilt of forgetting Bethany’s true home, Heaven.  The development of this relationship was a true gem.  I was gripped and captivated by the their story. Beautiful, with other words. What I really liked is that the “bad guy” didn’t show up until later in the book. That gave you time to get to know the characters and the world build up in the book.

Even though this book is about angels and their faith in God I feel like it doesn’t interfere with the story. The religion aspect is there, but it’s not the main focus. Bethany has her ralationship with Xavier, she has her friends and then there’s high school so it’s not so much of an issue for those who don’t believe in God or aren’t christans.

I’m not so sure but I think Alexandra was 18 when she published this book and honestly i’m very impressed. I’m a teenager myself and it’s unreasonable to expect the average teenager to tackle such weighty subjects as love and evil and faith and redemption with any convincing measure of depth or insight.  But in my opinin Alexandra succeded.

I’ve read Hades and Heaven too, which are book two and three. You can really see how Alexandras writing improves in every book but Halo is still closer to my heart. Maybe it’s because it’s the first book and we get to meet the characters for the first time or maybe it’s because I usually like the first book in a serie more but either way Halo is my favorite from the three of them.

Soon Ally publishes another book called Ghost House which i’m so excited about. I can’t wait till I get to see how her writing has evolved and how she will create a mesmerising world with fascinating characters once again.

For those who haven’t seen the book trailer, here it is:

This book gets 4 planets:

finfinfinfin

I recommend this book to all of you who like supernatural, young adult books.

One thought on “Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

Leave a Reply

