Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

OBSESSION-final-cover-500px

This is a stand alone novel that is an adult spin-off of the Lux series.

You do not need to read a Lux book to read Obsession and vice versa.

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die.

For.Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?

 

Welcome to A Book Universe’s very first 5 planets review

I don’t know how long I’ve obsessed over this book! I’m not joking. I thought about it all the time, even when I was reading other books. When I finally got it two days ago I thought I had died and gone to book heaven.

My thoughts:

844878

The writing was perfect. I really don’t have words for how AMAZING Jennifer writes.

And everything I thought I knew about the Luxen/Arum world? Well they do say there are two sides to every story and this book gives you a taste of that. This book makes you root for who you thought were the bad guys and makes you think there’s a lot more to the story then you thought.
I have a whole new outlook on both the Luxen and the Arum. Can I just say I have no idea who to believe?! Jennifer L. Armentrout is a genius! She took what fans of the Lux Series know to be the truth from the view point of Daemon Black and his siblings and blew it to small little pieces!
When you said the word Arum to me before reading this book, I would immediately associate it with images and words like evil, darkness, self-serving and of course THE FREAKING ENEMY.

But then a certain someone goes a head and says something like:

”We’ve always been seen as a weapon. That’s what we are.”

And everything changes!

After reading Obsession, the first thoughts that now enters my mind when the word Arum is mentioned is kick ass, sexy as hell, sarcastic and fantastic and his name is…Hunter.

My ladies (and gentlemen), Hunter is the ultimate anti hero ever written. He is extremely arrogant, self confident and cocky, straight forward and completely frustrating at times! … But he is also cold, controlling… and he always gets what he wants.

This leads us to Serena. Serena, who is light to Hunter’s dark, is exactly the kind of woman Hunter needed. This stubborn, feisty woman doesn’t put up with Hunter’s bad attitude. She may be small but she’s not afraid of the big, bad alien. And she is definitely not afraid to put him in his place when he is being an asshole.

I adore the chemistry between the two of them! This is an adult book so there’s of course, some delicious and sexy hot scenes between Hunter and Serena. These two are oh, so very HOT when they took all that sizzling energy between them and put it to good use.

I bow down to you, Jennifer Armentrout, for writing awesome stories that rock my world into oblivion!

I never read adult books but since this is a spin off to one off my favorite series I had to. This is a YA blog and this was the only exception I made. I’ve talked abot this book a lot and now that I finally read it it’s only fair if I review it.

Guys, please read of Jennifers books. She’s such a gifted author with such an amazing imagination.

This book gets 5 well deserved planets

saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8

One thought on “Obsession by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

