Review: Splintered by A.G Howard

splintered book cover2Synopsis: This stunning debut captures the grotesque madness of a mystical under-land, as well as a girl’s pangs of first love and independence.

Alyssa Gardner hears the whispers of bugs and flowers—precisely the affliction that landed her mother in a mental hospital years before. This family curse stretches back to her ancestor Alice Liddell, the real-life inspiration for Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. Alyssa might be crazy, but she manages to keep it together. For now.
When her mother’s mental health takes a turn for the worse, Alyssa learns that what she thought was fiction is based in terrifying reality. The real Wonderland is a place far darker and more twisted than Lewis Carroll ever let on. There, Alyssa must pass a series of tests, including draining an ocean of Alice’s tears, waking the slumbering tea party, and subduing a vicious bandersnatch, to fix Alice’s mistakes and save her family.

She must also decide whom to trust: Jeb, her gorgeous best friend and secret crush, or the sexy but suspicious Morpheus, her guide through Wonderland, who may have dark motives of his own

MY REVIEW:

Before I start: how gorgeous is that cover? I mean really, if there exists such a thing as judging a book by its cover, I’m so there.
This book!

tumblr_mi18tscnsk1qh9nffo1_500 (2)

WOW!

Splintered is spun from the classic tale of Lewis Carroll’s Alice in Wonderland, Splintered explores and charts the darker side of a premise so widely known. Taking on a twisted version of the Wonderland we know of, A.G. Howard introduces a world of possibilities where anything and everything can go wrong. And the moment our female protagonist begins her journey through a terrifying place once known as fiction, well, there was only one thing left to say.
Welcome to the real Wonderland.

From the first page, it was clear that Alyssa was going to be unlike any ‘heroine’ I’d read in YA literature. She’s completely the opposite of a Mary Sue. And she’ll quickly pull you in and linger in your mind for days after reading.

Alyssa’s voice in this book was like reading my own diary. There was something about her that just made me feel like she was instantly a part of me, and I absolutely had to find out what was going to happen to her when she went down the rabbit hole to try to save her family. I also couldn’t wait to find out who Alyssa would end up with. If you’re in the mood to read a love triangle executed flawlessly, this is a great place to look.

The Wonderland that A.G. Howard created in this novel was haunting. A contorted, creepy, and skeletal version of the cartoon Wonderland we all remember – it will quickly sink under your skin and leave you looking over your shoulder at night. It’s unlike anything else you’ve ever read I can asure you that! Everything is so perfectly thought through and amazingly decribed that it will blow your mind away.

I don’t know how much I can write until I spoil something because all the plot twists are just WOW! I never saw them coming and every page was unlike the other. This book is UNIQUE. I can’t believe I haven’t read this book before. How did I miss it? Well I know one thing for sure. First thing tomorrow I’ll go to the bookstore and buy the second book, Unhinged.

If you haven’t read this book buy it as soon as possible. I can promise you, you won’t be disappointed.

This book gets 5 out of 5 planets.

saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8saturn-planet-clipart8

amazon-logo-AT-2

4 thoughts on “Review: Splintered by A.G Howard

  1. I agree. The cover is fantastic! I hadn’t heard of this before. Another really great darker, more mature Alice in Wonderland spinoff is The Looking Glass Wars trilogy by Frank Beddor. Superb!

Leave a Reply

