Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

cinder-book-one-in-lunar-chronicles-marissa-meyer-hardcover-cover-artAuthor: Marissa Meyer

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Pages: 390

Rating: 4.5/5

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

Let me sum up the whole book for you in 4 words

Star Wars meets Cinderella

107

You might be thinking “What is she talking about? Does that even work? Star Wars? Cinderella?” Don’t worry my friends, I’ll turn all those question marks into exclamation marks.

When I first heard of Cinder before it’s release, it was gaining quite a bit of buzz known for the retelling of Cinderella. Marissa Meyer, my hat’s off to you because a cyborg Cinderella in New Beijing, China? Badass. But then shortly before I read it, another blogger informed me that not only is it a Cinderella retelling, but also had Sailor Moon elements. OMG… someone had answered my prayers!  I don’t think you can understand my excitement for that. But for some forsaken reason I kept procrastination. I don’t even know why? Oh wait I do! I BOUGHT THE PAPERBACK!!!!!! HOW could I?!?!? Yeah I know why… I wanted to buy more books so I bought the paperback to have more money to buy more books… BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER. UGH.. I have a hard time to read books in paperback. A really hard time.

I wasn’t sure about Cinder at first. As soon as the book started I noticed on every obvious downfall: Predictability. Seriously, the plot twist ran up to me and sucker punched me in the face at only 10% in. This concerned me, but it quickly became a non-issue as I continued to read. Why? Because the story was interesting. It was engaging. It was just plain old fun! And I haven’t had this much fun reading a book in a while.

The plot was brilliantly done. Cinder is a mechanic, under appreciated by her mother and one of her step-sisters. The other step-sister adores her. As a cyborg she doesn’t have the same rights as a normal person and her step-mother goes out of her way to remind Cinder this whenever she can. One day Prince Kai (*swoon*) requests her services to fix his android. And in true fairy tale fashion he begins to fall for her not knowing she is a cyborg. But this isn’t just a love story. Oh no! The world has been suffering from a deadly disease that kills in a matter of days and it starts to become painfully obvious that Earth’s only hope for a cure depends on an alliance with the evil Lunar Queen, Queen LeBitch oh sorry I meant Queen Levanna.. no I didn’t… And as you may have guessed it, she has plans for Earth. Dun, dun, duuuunnnnnn!

I loved the setting! Not many dystopian books I’ve read take place in places other than North America but this book took place in New Beijing. I thought it was very creative and unique. The only thing I was a bit confused about was the language. I wasn’t sure if EVERYONE was speaking English, or Beijing’s national language (which I think is Mandarin – I might be wrong) and we were reading the translated version. Cinder did mention different accents, but I wasn’t sure. Aside from that, I loved the setting.

I thought Cinder made a great female MC. She’s someone you’re constantly rooting for and sympathizing with. While I would have lost my head, Cinder knew when to choose her battles. Which makes her much smarter than me because I would have been six feet under . . .
Despite her circumstances, she never struck me as weak. She was incredibly strong and resilient and managed to keep a good sense of humor, which always goes a long way with me.

Prince Kai and Iko were amazing characters as well. I found myself going swoony over the prince and Iko was like the android best friend I never had.

Prince Kai! Check my fan, I think I’m overheating.”

You and me both, Iko, you and me both..

swooning

These three wonderful characters perfectly complimented the deep-seated hatred I now have for Adri and Queen Levana.

Queen Levana *Cough* LeBitch *Cough* can ship her ass back from where she came from (which is the moon!!! How cool is that?!) and keep to herself. Adri . . . you can go with her. They tried my patience every single time they showed up. But not in a ‘what poor characterization’ kind of way. More like ‘what amazing villains,’ you know what I mean? The type of characters you love to hate.

Not 5 because I DIDN’T HEAD OVER HEELS LOVE IT, but i’m super excited as to where this series is going,

I’m halfway through Scarlet which is the second book and this time it’s the little red riding hood we’re going to read about..

So book 1. Cinderella, 2. Red riding hood, 3. Rapunzel, 4. Snow white.

Book trailer

One thought on “Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Leave a Reply

