Review: Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout

3123874

Author: Jennifer L. Armentrout

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Pages: 369

Rating: 4/5

Samantha is a stranger in her own life. Until the night she disappeared with her best friend, Cassie, everyone said Sam had it all-popularity, wealth, and a dream boyfriend.

Sam has resurfaced, but she has no recollection of who she was or what happened to her that night. As she tries to piece together her life from before, she realizes it’s one she no longer wants any part of. The old Sam took “mean girl” to a whole new level, and it’s clear she and Cassie were more like best enemies. Sam is pretty sure that losing her memories is like winning the lottery. She’s getting a second chance at being a better daughter, sister, and friend, and she’s falling hard for Carson Ortiz, a boy who has always looked out for her-even if the old Sam treated him like trash.

But Cassie is still missing, and the facts about what happened to her that night isn’t just buried deep inside of Sam’s memory-someone else knows, someone who wants to make sure Sam stays quiet. All Sam wants is the truth, and if she can unlock her clouded memories of that fateful night, she can finally move on. But what if not remembering is the only thing keeping Sam alive?

This review is going to be vague because I do not want to spoil anything. This book is not one where you can go in to it knowing something ahead of time because it may ruin your reaction for the end. Yes, it’s one of those books.

tumblr_mq8tf9mNbF1snx1r0o1_500

(This is me being mysterious)

I’m…wow. This book will be a huge treat for Jennifer Armentrout fans. I’ve always loved everything she wrote, and this book was no exception. But I quite literally couldn’t put this book down!

So be prepared for that…don’t start it when you’ve just gotten in bed. You won’t sleep until it’s over.

I wasn’t just gripped by the story, I felt like I fell headfirst into Sam’s life and was right there through everything! I’ve read plenty of books where I’ve been captivated by characters, but nothing like this. I swear I thought I was going crazy right along with her! I had a million theories about what happened that night, and every time something happened, I was quick to 1. question my sanity and 2. dissect every word the other characters said…almost like a trust no one, including yourself type of situation. Hell of a trip.

Another thing I will warn you about . . . I cried like there was no tomorrow. I was not expecting the waterworks to be turned on like they were during this book but let me tell you, what the main character goes through, it breaks something inside of you. All of this, the whole book, the whole story, it feels so real and you just break for her. You break because of her. I have never had this with any book. I will admit, I’ve cried while reading books but it’s usually when a main character gets killed or there are two characters saying goodbye to each other because they may never see each other again. But that’s it. I cry for a few minutes and go on my merry way. But this time I cried for different reasons.

And before you say anything…

tumblr_mpdkiftYza1s7tme3o1_500

The characters are phenomenal. I love how we get to discover who Sam was before she woke up with amnesia together with her. We get tiny glimpses of who she was before and let me just say she made the word “bitch” seem tame. And as I Armentrout lover, I’ve read all of her books. This is the first time the MC isn’t too sarcastic..? It’s nice, really. Well it might have something to do with her waking up with no memories whatsoever, but you know, still.

What dragged this book’s rating was that I knew who “it” was from the first chapter. I knew it immediately. I hate it but I usually do know what’s going to happen before it does in book and movies. Horrible.

But guys! Seriously!! Go buy this book as soon as possible! Trust me when I say it’s worth every single penny.

Leave a Reply

