Review: Unhinged by A. G. Howard

9781419709715_p0_v1_s260x420Author: A. G. Howard

Publisher: Amulet Books

Pages: 387

Rating: 4.5

Alyssa Gardner has been down the rabbit hole and faced the bandersnatch. She saved the life of Jeb, the guy she loves, and escaped the machinations of the disturbingly seductive Morpheus and the vindictive Queen Red. Now all she has to do is graduate high school and make it through prom so she can attend the prestigious art school in London she’s always dreamed of.

That would be easier without her mother, freshly released from an asylum, acting overly protective and suspicious. And it would be much simpler if the mysterious Morpheus didn’t show up for school one day to tempt her with another dangerous quest in the dark, challenging Wonderland—where she (partly) belongs.

As prom and graduation creep closer, Alyssa juggles Morpheus’s unsettling presence in her real world with trying to tell Jeb the truth about a past he’s forgotten. Glimpses of Wonderland start to bleed through her art and into her world in very disturbing ways, and Morpheus warns that Queen Red won’t be far behind.

If Alyssa stays in the human realm, she could endanger Jeb, her parents, and everyone she loves. But if she steps through the rabbit hole again, she’ll face a deadly battle that could cost more than just her head

Okay so Unhinged is the second book in the Splintered series. I have actually reviewed Splintered so you can read it here. Unhinged by AG Howard picks up several months where Splintered left off. Alyssa is struggling with her relationship with Jeb, who seems more interested in starting a career than spending time with her. Plus, he doesn’t remember any of their adventures in Wonderland, and Alyssa is wondering if she should tell him. Unsurprisingly, Morpheus shows up in her dreams again and in the living flesh to shake things up. To make things more tricky and interesting, we learn new things about her parents and their relationship, which clarify a lot of things and put a new spin on some of the events that happened in the last book.

What I also loved about this book was that we finally got to know more about Alyssa’s parents. A lot more, including how they met. Al’s mom was always a mystery to me, and I’m so glad this book gave me a chance to get to know her better. While most fans probably are all about Jeb and Morpheus in regards to this book, I much preferred the relationship between Alyssa and her mother in this one. It was very sweet.

But still you know I have to say something about Jeb and Morphues. I HATE triangle dramas in books. Despise them. There really is no need for that and it only makes people frustrated when the MC isn’t with the one they want.I understand the need for the love triangle, since it’s not imposed superficially, we’re dealing with one mystical being with whom Alyssa has grown up with in her dreams, and one real, living boy with whom Alyssa has grown up with in real life. But really, is there such a need to draw out the love triangle to the extent that it eclipses the plot? 

I, for one want Alyssa to be with Morpheus. I’ve never liked Jeb and doubt I ever will. But he annoyed me more than ever. He was so focused on his job that he repeatedly put it before Alyssa. I understand it’s a great opportunity, but don’t you see what it’s doing to the person you’re supposed to love? That was not okay. I didn’t care about Jeb in Splintered (mostly I was annoyed that he was with her in Wonderland), but in this one I downright disliked him. Morpheus stole the spotlight for me!

I knew from the beginning that Alyssa was going to be difficult in this book.
She was going back and forth about who she is all the time, trying to reconcile two sides of her nature and two worlds she belongs to, the human realm and Wonderland. It didn’t help that both worlds were in danger from certain creatures, and I suppose I should care about the human realm the most… er … maybe … probably, but I just don’t. Not in this book. I’m actually more concerned about Wonderland’s well-being, so if Alyssa doesn’t want her responsibilities as a Queen, I volunteer!!

The only reason I don’t give it a 5/5 is because I really hoped we would visit Wonderland once again in Unhinged but sadly  it only took place “in the human realm” aka our world. If you read the book it’s understandable why it does but you know… I still hoped.

But guys, this book is sooooo wonderful. It’s filled with magic, action, love, mystery and much much more. It’s wonderful.

Here’s the book trailer:

Leave a Reply

