Spoiler free review: Existence Trilogy by Abbi Glines

I have decided to not review each book in this series, but instead review this series as a whole. I read the books back to back and to be honest I think I have forgotten what happens in each book – they’ve kinda blurred into one so I think this is the best course of action.

I will be presenting the three book covers + the description of the first book because the others do contain spoilers. The review however will be of the entire series and also be spoiler free!

(I’m sorry it’s so long)


13223520

Author: Abbi Glines

Publisher: Wild Child publishing

Pages: 161

Rating: 2/5

What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.

Pagan Moore doesn’t cheat Death, but instead, falls in love with him.

Seventeen year old Pagan Moore has seen souls her entire life. Once she realized the strangers she often saw walking through walls were not visible to anyone else, she started ignoring them. If she didn’t let them know she could see them, then they left her alone. Until she stepped out of her car the first day of school and saw an incredibly sexy guy lounging on a picnic table, watching her with an amused smirk on his face. Problem is, she knows he’s dead.

Not only does he not go away when she ignores him, but he does something none of the others have ever done. He speaks. Pagan is fascinated by the soul. What she doesn’t realize is that her appointed time to die is drawing near and the wickedly beautiful soul she is falling in love with is not a soul at all.

He is Death and he’s about to break all the rules.

13323842

Author: Abbi Glines

Publisher: Wild Child publishing

Pages: 213

Rating: 2/5

.

.

13573795

Author: Abbi Glines

Publisher: Wild Child publishing

Pages: 195

Rating: 2.5/5

.

.

Review:

The reason I even picked up Existence  is because of the book cover. It’s gorgeous. I was really put off by the blurb though. ‘What happens when you’re stalked by Death? You fall in love with him, of course.’ Weeeell, not really sure that’s what I would do if I got stalked by death, but hey! If that works for you then shoot. No but seriously, I started this book thinking it was going to be a dark dark book, since it’s about death. But instead it turned out to be a very quick and easy read. These books got me out of the reading slump so hey! That says something about how easy they are to read.

When I was reading the first book, Existance, all I thought about 95% of the time was what the hell is going on here? I just COULD NOT understand how DEATH could be in a rock band? HOW, dear God, is that even remotely close to okay? He’s death for crying out loud! But noooo in these books death is in a band and millions of girls have his poster on their walls. I can’t buy it.

Also I had a very hard time getting past the names Pagan and Dank. With all the names in the world, this was what we got stuck with? I didn’t even know how to pronounce Pagan. Was it “pay-gone”, “page-an” or something entirely different? I had to listen to an excerpt of the audiobook to get it right. And also, DANK? I read it as Dark just because it made more sense (not really but still better than Dank). In the third book we learn that his name has a meaning but it still doesn’t make it “good”.

The characters are very very dull and boring. Lets start on Pagan…. She’s a moany, whiney, selfish, bitchy waste of space. Through pretty much the whole first book she’s seeing this guy called Leif, star quarterback and really good boyfriend, sweet, kind & thoughtful. Pagan decides she doesn’t love him and she only has eyes for Dank. Which is okay, a person can be wonderful and still not be a good match for you. However she decides to string him along for the whole story. She uses him to make herself feel better and the poor guy doesn’t have a clue. This is the same girl who actually has the balls to call another girl ‘Kendra’ the school slut? Pfft. At least she’s honest instead of trying to pretend she’s a timid, good little girl. She does, however, get a liiiittle better throughout the series. But only because she stop whining.

Miranda, who is Pagans best friend is supposed to be this loud, funny, quirky girl. Instead she’s annoying. I don’t know exactly where it went wrong with her character but she is the typical YA book best friend.   You know what I’m talking about. The best friend who is the opposite of our heroine.

The only character I liked was Dank.. He saw things for what they were and didn’t complain like Pagan did. Well at first anyway. As the series continued he kinda stopped being death and started to become obsessed with Pagan. Which is, well it’s not okay but I like romance so I didn’t mind it too much. Also while we’re at it. I think this series highlight is the romance. I enjoyed the moments when Dank and Pagan were together. What I didn’t like was the dialogs. They were soooo cheesy. The sentences were short and it felt like it became unrealistic after a while. I’m pretty sure no one talks like that in real life.

I forgot to mention something. Pagan sees souls. This could have been a rather fascinating concept. I mean, it’s explained that in this world, souls basically reincarnate over and over, with no memory of who they once might have been. You could do this without skipping down Special Snowflake Street (i.e., Pagan is the chosen one, or something), by simply having a subplot about how Pagan’s ability to see all these ghosts is a hangover from the souls who have reincarnated into her. Maybe Dank tells Pagan that like some other people, she is clairvoyant and/or acutely aware of her past lives and the people who are passing into the next world. It’s a better sell than the heroine just being able to see spirits and whimpering about how they’re ruining her life, when they’re not threatening her in the least.

If I wrote all these bad things, how come I gave the series a 2/5? Even though I didn’t like it so much there were other people who absolutely loved it. To be honest, this series was actually fun, mindless brain candy. It was a cute enough love story. Even though I thought the ending was much too convenient, I did enjoy the actual moments when Pagan and Dank (still can’t get over those names) were together. I went in having very low expectations. I just wanted to read so I could get into the whole thing again. It’s not perfect and it’s not meant to be a deep novel. So I did enjoy it. It was a lot of the “extra” stuff that I could have done without but still you have time over, and don’t know what to read (and if you’re okay with getting annoyed several times) then Existence is for you.

Leave a Reply

