Review: Touch by Jus Accardo

11882171

Author: Jus Accardo

Publisher: Entangled Publishing

Pages: 284

Rating: 3/5

When a strange boy tumbles down a river embankment and lands at her feet, seventeen-year-old adrenaline junkie Deznee Cross snatches the opportunity to piss off her father by bringing the mysterious hottie with ice blue eyes home.

Except there’s something off with Kale. He wears her shoes in the shower, is overly fascinated with things like DVDs and vases, and acts like she’ll turn to dust if he touches her. It’s not until Dez’s father shows up, wielding a gun and knowing more about Kale than he should, that Dez realizes there’s more to this boy—and her father’s “law firm”—than she realized.

Kale has been a prisoner of Denazen Corporation—an organization devoted to collecting “special” kids known as Sixes and using them as weapons—his entire life. And, oh yeah, his touch? It kills. The two team up with a group of rogue Sixes hellbent on taking down Denazen before they’re caught and her father discovers the biggest secret of all. A secret Dez has spent her life keeping safe.

A secret Kale will kill to protect.

Before I begin let’s just take a look at how hot that guy is!! Hot hot hot. I’ve been ignoring this book for so long now. Not because it didn’t sound good, no, it was because all my friends who’ve read it says it’s bad. So I decided to read it and see for myself. My answer is: meeh.

Touch is action packed from the beginning to the end.The book starts out with a great action scene, the beginnings of an intriguing mystery, and I really liked Deznee’s punky look and sarcastic attitude. Unfortunately, I felt as though she believed everything she was told, asked far too few questions, ran away with Kale far too quickly. But on the other side I might have done the same if my dad was just like her dad.

Her dad is a cold and evil man. He has told Deznee so many lies, one of them is so big that if it had happened to me I don’t think I’d ever forgive him. This man isn’t afraid of using people, even his daughter, to get whatever he wants. So I understand why Dez runs away. In the beginning I had a hard time believing that a father could be so cold with his daughter. Never really loving her, never understanding her and never being there for her.

Dez on the other hand is FIERCE and isn’t afraid of much. Well she is but she’s good at hiding it. She is an adrenaline junkie, snarky, sarcastic, rebellious, badass and makes it her life mission to annoy her father to death. Amen to that sister. What I really loved about her is that she doesn’t care what others think about her. She even start reputations about herself just so they can reach her father. All she really wants is someone who cares about her. That’s how I see it anyway.

Kale is a Six. That means he’s one of people who have special abilities. Some abilities are better and more valuable than other. His happens to be deadly. Every time something living touches his skin it dies. This goes for everything and everyone except Dez (and we don’t get to know why..). Kale is very very sweet but oh God so innocent! I understand that he has been locked away his entire life but still! You’d think he knows the basic social rules but noo. He did have other people where he was locked up. Doesn’t that help? Besides that he’s very kind and protective. Kind of like a puppy when I think about it.

Together, Dez and Kale make an amazing team. Every minute with them was a surprise and a happy moment. She got to see his true self and fell in love with him because of his beautiful heart.

The best part of the book was the addictive quality of it. They’re always on the run or making very risky plans. It was exciting and it  hard to stop reading. The climax was also very satisfying. It wasn’t abrupt and it wasn’t overwhelming. It ended in a way that makes it obvious the story is not over but there is no cliffhanger. While I did enjoy it, I don’t think I will be rushing to the bookstore to get the second one. It’s good but not great. There are other books that I’m more anxious to read before the second one.

Leave a Reply

